Opinion

LATEST OPINION
When times are tough for shopkeepers, several aspects of running a business take on a greater significance. Take shrinkage for example.
View All Expert Eye >
Expert Eye with
John Shepherd
Owner and Managing Director of Partridges
John Shepherd
INDUSTRY EXPERT OPINIONS
READ MORE OPINIONS
  • The Independent Shopper: Shaun Rankin

    20 July 2018 News
    The Michelin-awarded TV chef discusses his passion for the fresh produce of the Channel Islands
  • “The rise of shrinkage”

    17 July 2018 Expert Eye
    When times are tough for shopkeepers, several aspects of running a business take on a greater significance. Take shrinkage for example.
  • The Interview: Morgaine Gaye

    16 July 2018 News
    The food futurologist talks politics, fads and the power of DNA
  • “Reality check?”

    16 July 2018 Speciality Bites
    I have said for a while that there are too many companies in our sector that are hobby-businesses or part-time businesses for those that don’t really need the money.
  • “Cold comfort”

    17 July 2018 Town Crier
    Do you have your own fallout shelter? I’ve never worked anywhere that believed me so indispensable to the rebuilding of civilisation that they allocated me a place in a bunker.
  • “It’s showtime”

    17 July 2018 Fine Food
    The news from the front is heartening: agricultural shows are enjoying a new lease of life.
  • “Good leadership”

    09 July 2018 Speciality Bites
    It would be remiss of me not to start this week’s blog without mentioning the main event of the weekend. In case you haven’t heard, the Cotswold Fayre Charity Ball went off very well on Friday evening!
  • The Independent Shopper: John Burton-Race

    02 July 2018 News
    The Michelin-starred TV chef reveals his favourite Devon-based retailers and why quality ingredients are essential in haute cuisine
  • “Trust”

    02 July 2018 Speciality Bites
    Just like the Brexit negotiations at present, all transactions, negotiations and business relationships involve trust
  • “Remember your heart!”

    25 June 2018 Speciality Bites
    Last week I looked at the garden centre world. This week, prompted by reading more about the House of Fraser plans for the future, I turn my attention to the world of department stores.
  • page 1 of 33